I've been a very bad vegan over the last 10 years or so. You see, I've always thought that Einstein Bagels were vegan. I was told they were dairy and egg free, so I just thought I was safe. This weekend I was poking around on their site, and found the ingredients including l-cystine (an amino acid that can be animal or synthetically derived. So I emailed them and this is the response I received:
Thank you for your recent email. No, our products are not vegan
products. They do carry the animo acid Lcystine which is a derived from
Duck Feathers. Thank you again and have a great day!!
Ew, that is disgusting. I'm so bummed. It is not that we really ate there all that often, but it did come in handy on a few occasions. O.K. That's all for now.